Thunder Valley Motocross Park
701 South Rooney Road
Lakewood, CO 80401



Established: 2005

Colorado’s Thunder Valley National has quietly worked its way into the fabric of Lucas Oil Pro Motocross. While other tracks stretch deep into the series’ 1970s roots, today’s Thunder Valley track only joined the circuit in 2005. It quickly established itself as a worthy addition to this storied series, and now many identify it as a favorite stop.

Thunder Valley is a great all-arounder. It looks cool, it’s situated in a great spot (the famous Red Rocks concert venue is just on the other side of the mountain, and downtown Denver is only 30 minutes away), and the track always offers amazing racing. The layout’s sweeping turns and deep ruts make line selection critical—on one lap, a rider can grab the right rut, make several passes, and take the lead, but the next lap that rut could become impassibly deep and he might give all of those positions right back!

With the track situated at about 6,000 feet above sea level, elevation can wreak havoc on bikes and bodies. More recently, though, teams have figured out the right engine tweaks to cope with thin air, and riders actually enjoy the chance to flex their cardiovascular muscles. This leads to fantastic heads-up racing as good as any in Lucas Oil Pro Motocross.



2017 / Blake Baggett 2016 / Ken Roczen 2015 / Ryan Dungey 2014 / Ken Roczen 2013 / Ryan Villopoto 2012 / Ryan Dungey 2011 / Ryan Dungey 2010 / Ryan Dungey 2009 / Ivan Tedesco 2008 / James Stewart 2007 / James Stewart 2006 / Ricky Carmichael 2005 / Ricky Carmichael


2017 / Joey Savatgy 2016 / Joey Savatgy 2015 / Jeremy Martin 2014 / Blake Baggett 2013 / Eli Tomac 2012 / Justin Barcia 2011 / Blake Baggett 2010 / Christophe Pourcel 2009 / Jake Weimer 2008 / Ryan Villopoto 2007 / Ben Townley 2006 / Ryan Villopoto 2005 / Ivan Tedesco