Home Track Advantage: Jeremy Martin Wins 250 Moto 1 at Millville

By Shawn Smith, ProMotocross.com

Expected to win today at his home track, Jeremy Martin came out and did just that in Moto 1.

The MotoSport.com Holeshot went to Christophe Pourcel, with Justin Bogle and Martin rounding out the top three. Martin quickly moved into second, then stalked Pourcel for a bit until taking over the lead on Lap 2 as they went through the sand whoops. Martin would cruise to victory over the remainder of the moto.

Pourcel held onto second for much of the race until being passed by fellow Frenchman Marvin Musquin late in the moto. Musquin and Pourcel would finish 2-3.

Pourcel turned a good start into a top-three finish. (Photo: Amy Schaaf)

With Martin entering today as the favorite, we knew it would be particularly important for title contenders Blake Baggett and Cooper Webb to avoid costly mistakes that would cause them to lose a ton of points to Martin, but that's exactly what happened.

Baggett got off to a poor start - his biggest weakness throughout his career - and found himself in 18th after the opening lap. Baggett valiantly fought through the field and worked his way up to fourth, salvaging a lot of points in the process, but every position is important when Martin is winning motos.

As for Webb, he opened the race in tenth and was on his way up towards the top five but ran into the back of Justin Bogle on Lap 4 and crashed. Webb remounted outside the top-15 and, like Baggett, would spend the rest of the moto trying to salvage points, eventually working his way back up to ninth.

The local fans were cheering loudly for Martin all day. (Photo: Amy Schaaf)

Martin was able to use the first moto to open up some breathing room in the title chase. Will he keep the momentum rolling in Moto 2?

Spring Creek 250 Moto 1 Results

1. Jeremy Martin
2. Marvin Musquin (-10.288 seconds)
3. Christophe Pourcel
4. Blake Baggett
5. Dean Wilson
6. Justin Bogle
7. Cole Seely
8. Joey Savatgy
9. Cooper Webb
10. Zach Bell
11. Jason Anderson
12. Alex Martin
13. Anthony Rodriguez
14. Jessy Nelson
15. Matt Lemoine
16. Matt Bisceglia
17. Shane McElrath
18. Jace Owen
19. Jimmy Decotis
20. Kyle Cunningham