Davi Millsaps Leads Every Lap to take San Diego SX Win, Reaches Milestone

With his 2nd win of the season, Davi Millsaps has shown that he has no intentions of relinquishing the red plate.

Millsaps, who finished 2nd to James Stewart in his heat race, grabbed the holeshot in the Main Event and was able to lead wire to wire to capture his first victory since the season opener.

Broc Tickle got off to a great start as well, sitting 2nd after the first turn, but within the first few laps ceded positions to Chad Reed, Justin Barcia and Justin Brayton before fading back even further. After moving into 2nd, Reed, who holds the record for most career wins at San Diego, put the pressure on Millsaps, staying within 2 seconds of him for about 7 laps. Midway through the race though, the TwoTwo Motorsports rider went down going into a berm and fell back to 7th.

Barcia inherited 2nd place and picked up where Reedy left off, trying to chip away at Millsaps' lead. While he managed to cut a 2 second deficit down to under 1 second, he never quite had enough to make a challenge for the top spot and would settle for 2nd.

Ryan Dungey and James Stewart, who had a battle of their own early on, finished 3rd and 4th, respectively. Reed rebounded from his crash to make his way back up to 5th. Ryan Villopoto had a down night, capped off by a last lap mistake that cost him 4th place, and wound up in 6th. Justin Brayton ran as high as 3rd, but fell out of the top five after Stewart got around him with a block pass before the whoops. The JGR Yamaha rider ended the night in 7th.

Tonight was a monumental night for Millsaps for other reasons as well. By finishing 2nd in his heat, he qualified for his 100th consecutive Main Event. It's the longest active streak, a testament to Millsaps' health and consistency. The all-time record holder is Chad Reed with 116.

San Diego 450SX Results

1. Davi Millsaps
2. Justin Barcia
3. Ryan Dungey
4. James Stewart
5. Chad Reed
6. Ryan Villopoto
7. Justin Brayton
8. Trey Canard
9. Andrew Short
10. Mike Alessi
11. Broc Tickle
12. Matt Goerke
13. Matt Lemoine
14. Weston Peick
15. PJ Larsen
16. Bobby Kiniry
17. Chris Blose
18. Josh Hill
19. Ben Lamay
20. Kyle Partridge

450SX Point Standings

1. Davi Millsaps, 132
2. Ryan Dungey, -19
3. Ryan Villopoto, -27
4. Trey Canard, -27
5. Chad Reed, -35
6. Justin Barcia, -49
7. Andrew Short, -49
8. James Stewart, -58
9. Justin Brayton, -65
10. Broc Tickle, -75