2015 AMA Pro Numbers

This month, the full list of AMA pro numbers for both the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship and the supercross season were revealed. The full list from #1-99 is below, but first, here's a few notes on the process itself and the most notable number changes for 2015 and beyond.

  • Riders who earn a championship will race the #1 plate when competing in that class the following year. For the 2015 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, Ken Roczen will have the #1 plate in the 450 Class, while Jeremy Martin will run the #1 in the 250 Class.
  • Riders who earn a national championship are able to choose a single-digit career number. Ken Roczen will stick with #94, but Jeremy Martin has opted to take #6. Although Martin will be required to use the #1 plate during the motocross season next year, he'll run the #6 during supercross. The only single-digit number currently left available for future champions is #8.
  • Riders who finish in the top ten in combined points for both motocross and supercross are eligible to choose a double-digit career number. Aside from Martin, new career numbers were also awarded to Cole Seely (#14), Cooper Webb (#17) and Justin Bogle (#19). All double-digit career numbers from #10-20 have now been claimed, with the exception of #13 - a superstitous number for many riders.
  • Riders who finish outside the top ten in combined points and do not already have a career number are ranked in order and then assigned the lowest available double-digit number. Jason Anderson finished 11th in combined points but passed on #13 - as most riders tend to do - and will instead have #21 next year.
  • Riders are not allowed to choose three-digit career numbers anymore, but Mike Alessi is grandfathered in under the old rules and will still be able to use #800. Christophe Pourcel previously had #377 for a career number, but because he didn't race in the U.S. for several years, he didn't earn the points required to retain his career number and will instead be assigned #30 next season.
  • Any rider with a career number must earn at least 25 points next season to keep that number, although exceptions are granted for injury. Riders who lost their career numbers this year were Kevin Windham (#14) and Tyla Rattray (#28).

On to the full list below. Riders with a career number are denoted with an asterisk; those with an already-existing career number are italicized, while riders with new career numbers for 2015 are listed in bold.

1 (450MX): Ken Roczen
1 (250MX): Jeremy Martin
2*: Ryan Villopoto
3*: Eli Tomac
4*: Blake Baggett
5*: Ryan Dungey

6*: Jeremy Martin
7*: James Stewart
9*: Ivan Tedesco
10*: Justin Brayton
11*: Kyle Chisholm
12*: Jake Weimer

14*: Cole Seely
15*: Dean Wilson
16*: Zach Osborne

17*: Cooper Webb
18*: David Millsaps
19*: Justin Bogle
20*: Broc Tickle
21: Jason Anderson
22*: Chad Reed
23: Weston Peick
24*: Brett Metcalfe
25*: Marvin Musquin
26*: Michael Byrne
27*: Nicholas Wey

28: Jessy Nelson
29*: Andrew Short
30: Christophe Pourcel
31: Alex Martin
32: Justin Hill
33*: Josh Grant
34: Malcolm Stewart
35: Kyle Cunningham
36: Matt Goerke
37: Joey Savatgy
38: Matt Bisceglia
39: Fredrik Noren
40: Shane McElrath
41*: Trey Canard
42: Ben Lamay
43: Matt Lemoine
44: Zach Bell
45: Vince Friese
46: Phil Nicoletti
47: Martin Davalos
48: Wil Hahn
49: Jimmy Decotis
50: Adam Cianciarulo
51*: Justin Barcia
52: Mitchell Oldenburg
53: Jimmy Albertson
54: Ryan Sipes
55: Kyle Peters
56: Cole Thompson
57: Jackson Richardson
58: Killy Rusk
59: Dakota Tedder
60: Jake Canada
61: Michael Leib
62: Anthony Rodriquez
63: Chris Blose
64: AJ Catanzaro
65: Scott Champion
66: Chris Alldredge
67: Dean Ferris
68: Christian Craig
69: Ronnie Stewart
70: Nick Schmidt
71: Cole Martinez
72: Blake Wharton
73: Gannon Audette
74: Zachary Williams
75*: Josh Hill
76: Evgeny Mikhaylov
77: Justin Starling
78: Preston Mull
79: Jace Owen
80: RJ Hampshire
81: Tommy Weeck
82: Jacob Baumert
83: Levi Kilbarger
84: Jesse Wentland
85: Landon Powell
86: Zack Freeberg
87: Cody Gilmore
88: Dakota Alix
89: Brady Kiesel
90: Topher Ingalls
91: Chris Howell
92: Cade Clason
93: Dillan Epstein
94*: Ken Roczen
95: Nick Gaines
96: Sean Collier
97: Darryn Durham
98: Gavin Faith
99: Paul Coates
800*: Mike Alessi