Ryan Villopoto Clinches 2013 Championship with 450 Moto 2 Win in Utah

Ryan Villopoto has officially proven to be the best rider of this year's 450 Class as he sweeps the Built Ford Tough Utah National and wins his second championship in the premier class.  The win in the second moto makes it 4 straight moto victories, as the Monster Energy Kawasaki rider will complete the season with his name atop the point standings throughout all 12 rounds.  Villopoto managed to best a field that included several past champions, including 2012's top dog Ryan Dungey, James Stewart, and Chad Reed.  Villopoto's first 450 championship came in 2011, and after an injury-plagued 2012, he secures his place in history as a repeat champion and will go into 2014 as the heavy favorite for a third.

Villopoto crosses the line for his second title in three years. (Photo: George Crosland)

RV2 didn't manage to take the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot, ending his streak at three, as that went to Ryan Sipes for the first time this season. But Villopoto passed the Rockstar Racing rider before the end of the first lap and went on to win by 15 seconds over Dungey.  

Dungey gave it his best effort in this one but wasn't able to give Villopoto a fight. He finishes the day second overall (2-2) and is guaranteed to finish as the runner-up in points.  With Canard behind Dungey in 3rd, the Moto 2 and the overall podiums were the same as Moto 1.

Dungey has finished 2nd in 12 of 22 motos. (Photo: George Crosland)

Justin Barcia finished 4th to go 11-4 on the day and secure the 3-spot in points. His biggest threat to the position entering today was James Stewart, but the Yoshimura Suzuki rider didn't line up for Moto 2 after being forced to pull out of the first moto.

Privateer Weston Peick's 5-5 results land him 4th overall for the day.  Peick has looked strong in all of the races he has made it to this season and today's performance really solidifed his case to land a decent ride next year.

Peick continues his "Cinderella story" run as a privateer. (Photo: George Crosland)

Villopoto's Monster Energy Kawasaki teammate Jake Weimer finished the race 6th. He moves past Andrew Short in the point standings to take over sixth place. Justin Brayton, Phil Nicoletti and Andrew Short finished 7-9, and Ben LaMay made his first appearance inside the top ten. Lamay's 13-10 lands him at 10th overall and along with Weston Peick, he's one of today's best stories.

Several big names were unable to earn points in the second moto. Chad Reed and James Stewart didn't start Moto 2, while Mike Alessi didn't race at all this weekend due to injury. Difficult conditions also left three riders (Tyla Rattray, Ryan Sipes, Malcolm Stewart) who finished inside the top ten in Moto 1 stuck with DNFs for Moto 2. With a 32nd-place finish, Broc Tickle's streak of scoring points in every single 450 moto this year is snapped. (Villopoto and Barcia are now the only riders left with this stat to their credit for 2013.)

Sipes grabbed the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot but wouldn't finish the race. (Photo: Matt Rice)

Villopoto will race at Lake Elsinore with no pressure and then undergo ankle surgery after the season ends, putting him out of commission for the Motocross des Nations competition.

After failing to score a single point last week, Canard is back on the podium. (Photo: Matt Rice)

Villopoto is riding at a high level despite needing ankle surgery at season's end. (Photo: Matt Rice)

Utah 450 Moto 2 Results

1. Ryan Villopoto
2. Ryan Dungey (-11.3 seconds)
3. Trey Canard
4. Justin Barcia
5. Weston Peick
6. Jake Weimer
7. Justin Brayton
8. Phil Nicoletti
9. Andrew Short
10. Ben LaMay
11. Matt Goerke
12. Evgeny Mikhaylov
13. Nick Wey
14. Akira Narita
15. Michael Byrne
16. Derek Anderson
17. Austin Howell
18. Tucker Hibbert
19. Vann Martin
20. Adam Enticknap


25. Tyla Rattray
26. Ryan Sipes
29. Malcolm Stewart
32. Broc Tickle
DNS. Chad Reed
DNS. James Stewart

Utah 450 Class Overall Results

1. Ryan Villopoto (1-1)
2. Ryan Dungey (2-2)
3. Trey Canard (3-3)
4. Weston Peick (5-5)
5. Justin Brayton (6-7)
6. Justin Barcia (11-4)
7. Jake Weimer (8-6)
8. Phil Nicoletti (12-8)
9. Matt Goerke (9-11)
10. Ben LaMay (13-10)
11. Andrew Short (15-9)
12. Tyla Rattray (4-25)
13. Ryan Sipes (7-26)
14. Evgeny Mikhaylov (18-12)
15. Nick Wey (17-13)
16. Malcolm Stewart (10-29)
17. Akira Narita (23-14)
18. Derek Anderson (19-16)
19. Broc Tickle (14-32)
20. Michael Byrne (21-15)


39. Chad Reed (34-DNS)
40. James Stewart (36-DNS)

Updated Point Standings

1. Ryan Villopoto, 513
2. Ryan Dungey, -50
3. Justin Barcia, -138
4. Trey Canard, -210
5. James Stewart, -224
6. Jake Weimer, -269
7. Andrew Short, -275
8. Broc Tickle, -297
9. Josh Grant, -305
10. Mike Alessi, -309