Ryan Villopoto One Win Away from a Title after 450 Moto 1 Victory in Utah

Ryan Villopoto has not trailed anyone on his bike since Millville, once again capturing the Oakley Bomb fastest qualifying award, taking a Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot and dominating his way to a victory.  Villopoto finished 26 seconds ahead of Ryan Dungey in the inaugural round at Miller Motorsports Park in Tooele, Utah.  The number 2 bike can seal his second 450 class Championship with a victory in the second moto today.

A win in Moto 2 will give RV the title. (Photo: George Crosland)

When the gates dropped for Moto 1, Villopoto edged out Justin Brayton for the holeshot. Brayton was just ahead of him coming around the first turn but Villopoto swiftly got by and built up an early lead.

Dungey is a longshot to get back in contention to repeat as champion but has locked up the #2 spot at worst after finishing nine spots ahead of Barcia in the first moto. Once he got around Trey Canard a few minutes into the race for 2nd place, Dungey was able to run his own race, unable to challenge Villopoto but comfortably ahead of everyone else. Meanwhile Canard continues to have a strong second half of the season, finishing with the final podium spot after an unfortunate week at Unadilla (DNF in Moto 1, hard crash in Moto 2).

Dungey takes 2nd, while Stewart winds up with a DNF. (Photo: George Crosland)

Tyla Rattray had a strong moto with a 4th place finish, passing Weston Peick late.  Peick held on for 5th and continues to impress in the rounds he is able to race in, missing much of the season due to limited finances as a privateer.

Joe Gibbs Racing's Justin Brayton finished behind Peick in 6th place, while his teammate Josh Grant was unable to race today due to an injury.

Lots of fans onhand for the first-ever National at Miller Motorsports Park. (Photo: George Crosland)

Ryan Sipes took 7th, followed by Jake Weimer, who is coming off a podium finish in Moto 2 at Unadilla.  Matt Goerke turned in his best result of the season at 9th.

Malcolm Stewart took the final spot of the top ten. In the midst of a heated battle for position with Justin Barcia late in the race, Mookie ran Barcia to the outside and caused him to go off the track and crash.

Will Villopoto leave Utah with the championship? (Photo: George Crosland)

Villopoto has looked unstoppable and can now move into the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship lead with a holeshot in the next moto, but he'll be more focused on the bigger prize: taking home the championship.

Utah 450 Moto 1 Results

1. Ryan Villopoto
2. Ryan Dungey (-26.6 seconds)
3. Trey Canard
4. Tyla Rattray
5. Weston Peick
6. Justin Brayton
7. Ryan Sipes
8. Jake Weimer
9. Matt Goerke
10. Malcolm Stewart
11. Justin Barcia
12. Phil Nicoletti
13. Ben LaMay
14. Broc Tickle
15. Andrew Short
16. Zack Freeberg
17. Nick Wey
18. Evgeny Mikhaylov
19. Derek Anderson
20. Broc Schmelyun


34. Chad Reed (DNF)
36. James Stewart (DNF)