Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Overview


May 19 Hangtown Motocross Classic Sacramento, CA
May 26 Glen Helen National San Bernardino, CA
June 2 Thunder Valley National Lakewood, CO
June 16 High Point National Mt. Morris, PA
June 23 Tennessee National Blountville, TN
June 30 Southwick National Southwick, MA
July 7 RedBud National Buchanan, MI
July 21 Spring Creek National Millville, MN
July 28 Washougal National Washougal, WA
August 11 Unadilla National New Berlin, NY
August 18 Budds Creek National Mechanicsville, MD
August 25 Ironman National Crawfordsville, IN



The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, features the world’s fastest outdoor motocross racers, racing aboard the best bikes each factory offers, on the roughest, toughest tracks in the world. Motocross racing is survival of the fittest as well as the fastest every weekend; it’s where legends like Ricky Carmichael, Jeremy McGrath, James Stewart, and Ryan Villopoto were built.

Motocross is the original extreme action sport, and Lucas Oil Pro Motocross is the pinnacle of pure motocross. The 12-round series begins at Hangtown in May and ends at Indiana's Ironman Raceway in August. It includes stops at the premier motocross racing facilities in America, with events in California, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Washington, New York, Maryland and Indiana. The pro riders meet up on Saturday afternoon, with competition divided into two classes: one for 250cc bikes, and one for 450cc machines.

Each track presents its own unique blend of jumps, hills, corners and whoops, but all the races run under the same format: two 30-minute-plus-two-lap motos (races) per class, with the scores from each race combined to determine the overall winner. The competition also tests fitness, as motocross at this speed is arguably the most physically demanding sport in the world.

The Pro Motocross Championship began in 1972. Back then, American riders were still learning the ropes from their European counterparts who invented the sport. They learned soon though, and ultra-competitive riders like Bob Hannah, Marty Smith, Jimmy Weinert, Tony DiStefano, and Kent Howerton pushed the sport to new heights.

By the early-1980s, American stars were leading the way, as the likes of Rick Johnson, Broc Glover, Mark Barnett, Jeff Ward, Johnny O’Mara, and David Bailey met to battle at every round, surpassing the European masters in speed and technique.

Those men paved the way for modern legends like Jeff Stanton and Damon Bradshaw, Jeremy McGrath and Jeff Emig, and of course Ricky Carmichael, who became known as “the GOAT” (which stands for “Greatest Of All-Time”) after his amazing run at the top landed him ten consecutive Lucas Oil Pro Motocross championships.

Motocross fans are a unique breed of action sport consumer – edgy, energetic, enthusiastic, and athletic. Motocross is a lifestyle sport, and for 12 weekends each summer, the best athletes on the planet do battle on the toughest tracks in the land. The real winners are the thousands of fans who get a spot at the fence and cheer for their heroes through every second of the action.