Phil Nicoletti to race Canadian motocross series in 2019

September 5, 2018

Phil Nicoletti is headed north of the border after signing a deal with Team Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha to race in Canada. The deal, which was announced this week, will have him compete in the entire Rockstar Energy Triple Crown series — which now incorporates arenacross and supercross in addition to outdoor motocross — in 2019, plus a few upcoming events this year.

Despite a solid summer in Lucas Oil Pro Motocross, Nicoletti was unable to reach a deal with any U.S. teams for next season. He opened this past season as a fill-in rider for Autotrader/Yoshimura Suzuki and raced the first three outdoor rounds with them. But after that, he was allowed to transition over to Rockstar Energy Husqvarna for the remainder of the season on another fill-in deal. Nicoletti ended the summer sixth in 450MX points and finished in the top 10 in all but two motos. He also had a career day at Unadilla, where he set a new high with a third-place overall finish.

"I'm really excited to have signed with Rockstar Energy OTSFF Yamaha and looking forward to this new opportunity that will take me to Canada to race on a brand of bike I am very comfortable with," Nicoletti said in a team statement. "I haven’t seen much of the country and doing the nationals will allow me to experience what I have been told is a really beautiful place. I like new challenges and meeting new people, making new friends, racing new tracks. It keeps things interesting. We’ll see what happens but I definitely want to win some races in Canada."

As for Nicoletti's former teams, they both have two riders signed to race the 450 Class in the U.S. next year. Autotrader/Yoshimura Suzuki announced today that Weston Peick has re-signed for 2019, and Justin Hill was already under contract with the team. Rockstar Energy Husqvarna will enter next season with Jason Anderson and Zach Osborne on 450s.

Even with a team change mid-season, Phil Nicoletti put in consistent rides all summer long. (Photo: Matt Rice)